top of page
Pilot training guides for egca dgca cpl atpl in India

The most authentic information resource for Pilots and Aviation Professionals

Class 2 Medical Application

Updated: Mar 5

Obtaining a pilot medical certificate is an essential step in pursuing a career in aviation. In India, the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) regulates the process of issuing pilot medical certificates. This article will provide a step-by-step guide to obtaining Class 2 pilot medical certificates in India.

To obtain a Class II Medical Certificate, you need to follow these steps:

  • Visit the DGCA website and access the list of DGCA-approved medical examiners. Select a doctor from the list and schedule an appointment with them. You can either get the required tests done at a diagnostic center of your choice or go directly to the DGCA-approved doctor who will guide you through the process.

Class 2 Medical Examiners
Download PDF • 616KB

  • Undergo the necessary medical tests and examinations as instructed by the DGCA Class II medical doctor. These may include tests such as Hb TLC DLC, ECG, X-ray chest, lipid profile, kidney function test, urine analysis, blood sugar test, liver function test, and ultrasound of the whole abdomen. There are additional tests for female candidates, such as mammography and ultrasound of the lower abdomen.

Medical Requirements
Download PDF • 806KB

  • Once all the tests are completed, the doctor will review and approve your reports. The doctor will then send your application and medical examination reports to the DGCA for further processing. Within a month, you will receive your Class II medical assessment.

  • Once your documents are received by the DGCA, a file will be prepared in your name, and you will be issued a file number. Your Class II medical assessment and certificate will be uploaded on the eGCA portal, which you can access by logging in with your ID and password. Alternatively, you can collect your Medical Assessment from the DGCA Medical Cell in Delhi.

The documents required for the DGCA Class II Medical include your

  • Aadhaar card,

  • 10th and 12th mark sheets,

  • passport-sized photograph.

The validity of the Class II Medical Certificate varies depending on the type of license. For SPL holders undergoing flying training in India, the validity is 24 months for Class II and 12 months for Class I from the date of the last medical examination. PPL holders have a validity of 24 months. Those undergoing flying training abroad will be considered as normal PPL holders and would need to renew their Class II medical every two years or less.

The fees for the DGCA Class II Medical can vary depending on whether the examination is done at Airforce hospitals or approved private hospitals. Generally, the cost ranges from Rs 3,000 to Rs 8,000.

The time required to complete the DGCA Class II Medical process is around four weeks, starting from the submission of relevant documents to the DGCA. The status of your evaluation can be checked on the eGCA website before visiting the Medical Cell for the issuance of medical assessments.

You can refer to the eGCA User Manual for a detailed explanation of the steps to be followed to apply for a Class 2 Medical appointment.

Apply for Issuance of Class 2 Medical Assessment
Download PDF • 2.21MB

2,958 views0 comments


bottom of page